Custom Ansible filters: Easy solution to difficult problems

I have recently been using Ansible to automate health checks for some of our software-defined network (SDN) infrastructure. One of the devices my code must query for health is a soft router running the SROS operating system. Ansible 2.2 recently introduced support for an sros_command module (Info here) that simplifies my task somewhat, but I’m still left to do screen-scraping of the command output.

Screen scraping is nasty work. Lots of string processing with split(), strip(), and other commands. The resulting code is heavily dependent on the exact format of the command output. If it changes, the code breaks.

I initially implemented the screen-scraping using Jinja2 code in my playbooks. That put some pretty ugly, complex code right in the playbook. I found a better answer: Create a custom filter or two. Now things are *so much cleaner* in the playbooks themselves, the format-dependent code is now separated from the main code, and Python made it so much easier to code.

The best part: Ansible filters are very easy to create. The Ansible docs aren’t very helpful, perhaps because creation is so simple they thought it didn’t need explanation! The best way to figure out how to create your own filters is to look at some existing filters as a pattern to follow. The simplest of these is in Ansible itself, json_query. Here’s a stripped and simplified version of that code for the purpose of illustration. This code implements two trivial filters, my_to_upper and my_to_lower:

from ansible.errors import AnsibleError


def my_to_upper(string):
    ''' Given a string, return an all-uppercase version of the string.
    '''
    if string is None:
        raise AnsibleError('String not found')
    return string.upper()


def my_to_lower(string):
    ''' Given a string, return an all-lowercase version of the string.
    '''
    if string is None:
        raise AnsibleError('String not found')
    return string.lower()

class FilterModule(object):
    ''' Query filter '''

    def filters(self):
        return {
            'my_to_upper': my_to_upper,
            'my_to_lower': my_to_lower
    }

Developing this code is as simple as creating the FilterModule class, defining filters for each of the custom filters you need, and then providing a function for each filter. The example is trivial. I think you can see that you can make the filter functions as complex as required for your application.

Note that I have included AnsibleError in the example for illustration purposes because it is an extremely-useful way to get errors all the way to the console. If I were *really* implementing these filters, empty string wouldn’t be an error. I’d just return an empty string.

Here’s a couple of simple examples of how to call the filters and the resultant output:

- name: Create a mixed-case string
  shell: echo "A Mixed String"
  register: mixed_string
  delegate_to: localhost

- name: Print the UPPERCASE string
  debug: msg="{{ mixed_string.stdout|my_to_upper }}"

- name: Print the LOWERCASE string
  debug: msg="{{ mixed_string.stdout|my_to_lower }}"

<snip...>

TASK [my_task : Create a mixed-case string] *********************************
changed: [host.example.com -> localhost]

TASK [my_task : Print the UPPERCASE string] *********************************
ok: [host.example.com] => {
 "msg": "A MIXED STRING"
}

TASK [my_task : Print the LOWERCASE string] *********************************
ok: [host.example.com] => {
 "msg": "a mixed string"
}

In my case, instead of my_to_upper and my_to_lower, I created *command*_to_json filters that convert the SROS command output into JSON that is easily parsed in the playbook. This keeps my playbooks generic and isolates my filters as the place where the nasty code lives.

