Public key for epel-release-7-8.noarch.rpm is not installed

I was trying to run some ansible playbooks on my CentOS 7 Linux machine. I hit a failure because the version of ansible on the machine (1.9.4.0) was less than the minimum version required by the playbooks (2.1.0.0). yum install was seeing 1.9.4.0 as the latest.

It turns out what I needed was to pull a version of ansible from the EPEL repo rather than the default repo. yum repolist showed that the EPEL repo was already available on the machine, so I followed the instructions I found on the Internet: yum install ansible-2.1.0.0

The package was found and downloaded. But before the installation completed it hit an error:

Public key for epel-release-7-8.noarch.rpm is not installed

There is a very simple fix for this, as documented here and in other places:

rpm --import /etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY*

I don’t know how the system got into this state. It is a lab machine that gets used for many different experiments. I was happy to have found a simple fix.

